Slow Cooker Pork Tacos

slow cooker pork tacos

I realize that this post is months late, but this recipe can be used for any occasion.  The story is my one coworker suggested doing a Taco Tuesday in honor of Cinco de Mayo.  And having a naturally competitive personality, I make a competition out of anything, even if the other person doesn’t realize it is.  With that said, I pulled out my best most authentic taco recipe to use for Taco Tuesday.  And when I found out that my coworker used taco seasoning from a box, I knew hands down I won the contest.  Yes, I know the contest was just in my head and it’s crazy.  But I’m a winner and that’s all that counts.

Slow Cooker Pork Tacos:

  • 3-4 lb pork shoulder
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce (from a can), chopped
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • corn tortillas
  • 1 white onion diced
  • 1 bunch cilantro, roughly chopped

Combine the cumin, chili powder, paprika, oregano, Kosher salt, and olive oil in a bowl.  Place the pork shoulder into the slow cooker and rub with the spice mixture.  Add the chipotle pepper and the canned diced tomatoes, including the juice, into the slow cooker.  Set the slow cooker to low heat and cook for 8 – 10 hours.  I usually do this over night so it’s ready first thing in the morning and ready to bring to work or have for dinner right after work.

Remove the pork and place onto a serving dish.  Using two forks, shred the pork.  Pour the juice from the slow cooker over the pork.  Serve over the corn tortillas with some of the diced onion and cilantro.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

