Washington Eats

lumpia salmon crudo olive oil ice cream gnocchi

We were hoping to see the cherry blossoms bloom this past weekend. Although the trees weren’t flowering yet, we couldn’t be too disappointed because the weather was perfect, DC is beautiful, and there were some good eating.

We got into DC Friday afternoon, and after checking in at our hotel and resting up a bit, we headed out to dinner. Our first choice was City Tap House, which I read about in an article for the best places to get a drink around the nation’s capital. It must be really good because it was an hour and half wait to get a table. So we headed down the street and came upon Matchbox, which was a great find. Not only did it have a great atmosphere, but also the food was good and the service was fantastic. I must say that our waitress was one of the friendliest people I’ve ever met. The most enjoyable part of our meal was the lumpia we ordered for our appetizer. Unlike most traditional lumpia, which is usually made of ground pork, the lumpia at Matchbox was a mix of beef and shrimp. The lumpia wrap was fried to a golden brown and the vinegar dipping sauce created the perfect balance with the fried lumpia. I would go back not only to try one of their pizzas, which smelled absolutely delicious but didn’t get to try, but also to try one of their many specialty cocktails.

For lunch on Saturday, we spent a good three hours enjoying the many tapas at Jaleo. I had heard about Jaleo from an episode of Bizarre Foods, and was so excited to try the food, and I was not disappointed. I had their salmon crudo and the marinated rabbit confit, which were delectable. However in my opinion the piece de resistance was the olive oil ice cream served with a grapefruit sorbet. The combination of flavors with just enough sweetness made this one of my most favorite desserts. I definitely would go back and try the chef’s tasting menu.

We had dinner at an amazing Italian restaurant in Georgetown called Il Canale. We arrived with no reservations, but we lucked out and there was a table near the front.   We started with the prosciutto and cantaloupe, which was a nice light start to a gloriously filling meal. I had the gnocchi as an entrée paired with the smoothest Sangiovese. Again I missed out on their pizza, so now I’m determined to go back and have one. The wait was forty minutes for the pizza, but I’m sure it would have been worth it.

In short, the weekend went by too quickly and there are too many good food places in DC, and that’s not counting the food trucks. I think I have my work cut out for me.

washington monument

Leave a Reply

