NYC Restaurant Week Winter 2015: Bobby Van’s – Financial District

bobby vans sirloin chocolate mousse cake

It’s the most wonderful time of the year: New York City Restaurant Week.  I’ve been looking forward to Winter Restaurant Week for almost two months.  It’s the only thing that keeps me going through this particularly brutal winter.  The first restaurant I tried is Bobby Van’s on Broad Street in Financial District.  What I didn’t realize is that Lent started and I decided to go to a steakhouse on a Friday #CatholicGirlProblems.

We arrived early for our reservation but as the restaurant was pretty empty for a Friday evening, we were seated immediately.  I must say I really enjoyed the décor.  The restaurant was built in a former bank vault and you can see the doors and mechanisms of the space’s former life.

The service was impeccable, and our waitress was extremely friendly. With that said the sirloin steak I ordered from the Restaurant Week Menu left something to be desired.  I ordered my steak rare and it was still pretty tough to chew; it was under-seasoned as well.  On the plus side, the cabernet that I washed the steak down with was pretty smooth.  The chocolate mousse cake for dessert was pretty good.  It wasn’t extraordinary, but it was pleasant.  Overall, I wasn’t floored by my meal; I don’t think I would necessarily recommend this restaurant.  I might give it one more try, perhaps one of the other locations and maybe try a different item on their menu just to make sure I’m not making a rash judgment.

Leave a Reply

