NYC Restaurant Week Summer 2014: Cipriani Dolci

cipriani dolci

New York City Restaurant Week Summer 2014 ended a few weeks ago and I wrapped up the foodie festivities with dinner at Cipriani Dolci.  I’ve been dying to try the Italian restaurant chain’s Grand Central location for two reasons: 1) I heard the food is amazing and 2) it’s in the middle of New York City’s landmark Grand Central Station!  I love any chance to people watch.  In fact, in the middle of dinner someone proposed to their girlfriend right in the middle of the station’s main concourse.  It was so sweet, although I was partly disappointed that it did not include a flash mob.  Anyways, back to talking about food, from their Restaurant Week Prix Fixe menu, I ordered the rucola salad to start, the veal ravioli as the main course, and chocolate cake for dessert.  The rucola salad was topped with a layer of a single sheet of Parmigiano which was delightful especially if you enjoy aged cheese.  The veal ravioli was a bit too rich for my taste, luckily the glass of Sangiovese that I ordered cut through the fat, which made the dish more palatable.  The chocolate cake was also very rich and decadent.  Overall, it was a good dining experience, and I probably would go back and try some of the other things on their regular menu.

Leave a Reply

