Crispy Catfish at The Smoke Joint, Brooklyn

smoke joint fried catfish

The other night, a friend and I went to Brooklyn to see a panel discussion on neuroscience moderated by astrophysicist and all around cool guy Neil DeGrasse Tyson.  Yes, I know my nerd is showing.  Before the talk started, we went to this awesome little barbecue place called The Smoke Joint.  When we walked into the restaurant, the first thing we thought of was Freddy’s in the show “House of Cards” (U.S. version), which made us more excited and we were not disappointed.  I’ve been trying to go back to being a pescatarian so I abstained, with great difficulty, from the pulled pork, which my friend ended up ordering and enjoyed thoroughly.  I chose the crispy catfish platter, which comes with a creamy cole slaw and pickles.  The fish was fried to crispy perfection and the sauce that accompanied it added the right amount of heat.  The plate went well with the pint of draft beer that I ordered.  I might have to make the trek out to Brooklyn again to try the rest of their menu.

Leave a Reply

