NYC Winter Restaurant Week 2014: Nobu Next Door

black cod miso

It’s the most wonderful time of the year—Restaurant Week.  Last night, my girlfriend and I hit up Nobu Next Door in TriBeCa to try their prix fixe menu as part of restaurant week, which is running from February 17th to March 7th this winter.  For those who are unfamiliar with restaurant week, a multitude of restaurants throughout the city offer a prix fixe menu that includes 3 courses for $25 for lunch or $38 for dinner.  It’s a great way for restaurants to draw new diners and for foodies to try many restaurants without breaking the bank.  The pre fixe menu at Nobu Next Door offered the following:

For Appetizers:

  • Salmon sashimi with jalapeno
  • Black cod miso on limestone lettuce
  • Shrimp tempura with creamy spicy sauce

For the Main Entrée:

  • Umami Arctic Char
  • Beef Toban Yaki
  • Assorted Sushi

For Dessert:

  • Pavlova
  • Pot de Crème

For my meal, I chose the black cod miso, the umami arctic char, and the pot de crème.  The black cod miso was very delicate and the miso glaze was sweet.  To eat it, you had to wrap the cod pieces with the lettuce and eat it like a taco.  I’m not sure what they put on top, but it gave the soft flaky cod a nice crunch.  I chose the umami arctic char for the main course.  It was served with radishes and a micro green salad on top with a side of white rice.  Arctic char is very similar to salmon and lake trout, and for me it tastes a lot like salmon but slightly less overpowering.  Nobu’s umami arctic char was savory, and it was served with its charred skin, which I loved.  For dessert I had the pot de crème, which started very sweet with a mousse like chocolate and syrupy peaches, but as you get to the bottom of the cup, it became more bittersweet.  The very bottom was a pleasant surprise with a sweet basil flavored cream.  It was a pleasant surprise as I would never think to put basil in dessert, and I actually enjoyed this dessert as it was for me unique and not too sweet.

Overall, I would say that going to Nobu Next Door for restaurant week is well worth it.

Leave a Reply

