Chapter the First: Roasted Zucchini in Pita with Black Bean Hummus

Image

I love food, like really love food.  But then again so does everyone who starts a food blog.  So what will make this food blog stand out from the rest?  Nothing really.  I’ll share recipes that I’ve tried, restaurants I just discovered, and lots of my random food-related thoughts… pretty run of the mill type of stuff.  What will be different is that this will be from my point of view.  I also lost my penchant for long detailed musings.  I lost the knack to BS after I graduated college and had no further need to write overly drawn out essays just to fill blank space.  I want to take a minimalist approach and post photos and let the food speak for itself.  So for my inaugural blog post I will share a photo and a recipe of a dish I just made tonight.

Roasted Zucchini in Pita with Black Bean Hummus

This recipe will make 4 servings

  • 2 zucchinis (I used one green and one yellow just to make it more colorful)
  • crumbled feta cheese (I used low fat since I’m trying to be “health conscious”)
  • baby arugula
  • one lemon, cut into halves
  • pita bread (I used regular white pita in the photo, but ideally whole wheat to keep within the “health conscious” theme)
  • red onion sliced thinly
  • 15.5 oz can black beans
  • 2 garlic gloves crushed
  • Olive oil
  • White wine vinegar
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Cut the zucchinis into ½ inch rounds and drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.  (I lined my baking sheet with parchment paper so that the zucchini won’t stick and it makes for an easier cleanup.)  Spread the zucchini evenly on the lined baking sheet and roast until tender, about half an hour.  Finish off in the broiler for a few minutes to brown the top.  While the zucchini is in the broiler, warm the pita in the oven.

While the zucchini is roasting away, drain and rinse the canned black beans.  Place the beans in a saucepan and add enough water to cover the beans.  Bring the beans to a boil and simmer for ten minutes.  Once the beans are done, drain and place in food processor with crushed garlic, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, juice from half of the lemon, 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar and a pinch of salt and pepper.  Blend until smooth.

To assemble the pita, cut the pita in half and open the pockets.  Spread hummus inside the pockets.  Top with four to five slices of roasted zucchini, a few slices of the red onion, baby arugula, and crumbled feta cheese.  Serve with lemon wedge on the side.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

